Back

Animago – From sweet pipers to math formulas

In mid-September, the animago took place in Munich, a two-day conference featuring all the latest animation trends, rendering methods and general technical innovations in the 3D and VFX industry. After a great event, I’d like to share some of my personal highlights.

SIMON´S CAT

With more than 4.4 million subscribers and over 910 million views on YouTube, this little white cat and its owner Simon are known and loved around the world. Spoiler alert: it’s an interactive 360° video where users search for an animated cat in a dark, spooky forest.

Liza Nechaeva, assistant art director for Simon’s Cat, gave us an exclusive look at the creative process for a Halloween video. The audience learned that all illustrations and animations are still done by hand and that the employees watch cat videos throughout the day for inspiration. And the great thing about this talk was that the creators didn’t portray themselves as pioneers, but instead encouraged everyone and anyone to create their own 360° videos. What’s more, they produced the entire product, from concept to release, in just 5 days.

MATHEMATICAL ANIMATIONS

Matthias Zabiegly shared some nice insights into how the people at Aixsponza tick with his talk “Perfectly pretty – finding the sweet spot between tech and design.” He also addressed some interesting aspects of ideation. For several projects, Matthias has applied mathematical formulas to create procedural animations. These formulas are launched on 3D software and used to render the animation without any manual interventions. Until now, the company has mainly used the process to visualize sporting good articles.

CINEMA 4D

In their talk, Glenn Frey and Jonas Pilz explained why the 3D software Cinema 4D is the perfect program for both novice and professional 3D artists. Examples in the demonstration ranged from the simplest animations done using C4D dynamics to compelling new features like the CMotion tool or the new Voronoi Fracture. Within just a few minutes, they even animated a spider that moved on variable terrain without intersections. The individual process steps were easy to customize and the speakers’ enthusiasm for the software was extremely contagious.

Cinema workshop

PIXAR´S PIPER

Erik Smitt, director of photography at Pixar, took us behind the scenes of the OscarÒ award-winning short Piper. He touched on the development of the adorable character, which was based on real-life sandpipers and tweaked to achieve a signature Pixar look. Beaches in the San Francisco Bay Area served as inspiration for the scenery. The camera team also took some cues from the methods used in nature documentaries, like a long focal length and an extremely high depth of field. This project even required more rendering than the upcoming Toy Story 3 movie.

Piper

MAKING THE INVISIBLE VISIBLE

How can I portray something that’s not normally visible to the human eye? That was the question that Will MacNeil, motion graphics artist at The Mill, decided to pursue together with his team. In a project for the handmade cosmetics brand Lush to advertise a new massage.

Using an electrocardiogram (ECG or EKG), responses to the massage were recorded and the data output visualized. By applying programs like Houdini or Cinema 4D, the team created fascinating procedural animations that conveyed how the massage felt through the use of color in a short web clip.

For me, it was exciting to get an up-close experience of the current state of the art in high-quality 3D and VFX products and the various directions in which the industry is currently developing.

 

animago.com

animago pic

Zurück

Animago – Von süßen Flussuferläufern zu mathematischen Formeln

Mitte September fand in München die animago statt, eine zweitägige Konferenz über die neuesten Animationstrends, Rendertechniken und allgemeinen technischen Neuerungen in der 3D und VFX Branche. Hier zeige ich euch meine persönlichen Highlights.

SIMON´S CAT

Mit mehr als 4,4 Millionen Abonnenten und über 910 Millionen Aufrufen auf Youtube ist die kleine weiße Katze mit ihrem Besitzer Simon weltbekannt. Dabei handelt es sich um interaktives 360° Video, bei dem man die Katze in einem tiefen Wald suchen kann.

Liza Nechaeva, Assistant Art Director für Simon’s Cat, zeigte uns einen exklusiven Einblick in die Entstehung eines Halloween Videos. Interessant dabei ist, dass die ganzen Illustrationen und Animationen noch per Hand gezeichnet werden und die Mitarbeiter als Referenz dafür den ganzen Tag lang Katzenvideos schauen. Das schöne am Vortrag war, dass sich die Macher nicht als Pioniere dargestellt haben, sondern jeden dazu ermutigten, selbst mal ein 360° Video zu kreieren. Sie selbst erstellten das komplette Projekt von Konzept bis hin zur Veröffentlichung in nur 5 Tagen.

MATHEMATISCHE ANIMATIONEN

Einen sehr interessanten Einblick in die Arbeitsweise der Firma Aixsponza ermöglichte uns Matthias Zabiegly mit seinem Vortrag „Perfectly Pretty – finding the sweetspot between tech and design“. Dabei ging er auf interessante Aspekte der Ideenfindung ein. Für mehrere Projekte wandte er mathematische Formeln für prozedurale Animationen an. Die mathematische Formel wird dabei so auf die 3D Software übertragen, dass die Animation dadurch berechnet wird, ohne manuell animieren zu müssen. Angewendet wurde dieser Prozess vor allem bei den Visualisierungen von Sportartikeln.

CINEMA 4D

Warum gerade die 3D Software Cinema 4D das perfekte Programm für Einsteiger und fortgeschrittene 3D Artists ist, erklärten Glenn Frey und Jonas Pilz in ihrem Vortrag. Dabei reichte die Bandbreite des Vortrags von einfachsten Animationen wie Dynamics bis hin zu interessanten Neuerungen wie zu Beispiel das Tool C-Motion oder der Voronoi Effector. Sie animierten innerhalb weniger Minuten eine Spinne, die sich ohne Intersections auf einem unebenen Boden bewegt. Die einzelnen Schritte können ohne Probleme individuell angepasst werden. Die Begeisterung, die die beiden bezüglich des Programms ausstrahlten, steckte jeden im Raum an.

Cinema workshop

PIXAR´S PIPER

Erik Smitt, Director of Photography bei Pixar, nahm uns mit in die Entstehungsgeschichte von dem OscarÒ-prämierten Kurzfilm „Piper“. Dabei ging er auf die Entwicklung des süßen Charakters ein, die sich an echten Flussuferläufern orientierte und so weiterentwickelt wurde, bis es einen Pixar typischen Look hatte. Als Inspiration für die ganze Szenerie dienten die Strände der San Fransico Bay Area. Technisch ließ sich das Team von den Kameraeinstellungen bei Naturdokumentationen inspirieren, die sich durch eine große Brennweite und einer extrem hohen Tiefenunschärfe auszeichnet. Dieses Projekt nahm wohl mehr Renderleistung in Anspruch als der bevorstehende Toy Story 3 Film.

Piper

UNSICHTBARES SICHTBAR MACHEN

Wie stelle ich etwas ästhetisch dar, was gar nicht sichtbar ist? Diese Frage stellte sich Will MacNeil, Motion Graphics Artist mit seinem Team von The Mill. Im Auftrag der Naturkosmetik-Marke Lush, die eine neue Massage bewerben wollte.

Bei dieser werden mit Hilfe eines EEGs oder EKGs die Reaktionen der Massierten aufgezeichnet und die Auswertung der Daten sollten visuell ästhetisch dargestellt werden. Mit Hilfe von Programmen wie Houdini aber auch Cinema 4D entstanden dadurch interessante prozedurale Animationen, die mit den verwendeten Farben das Gefühl dieser Massage in einem kurzen Werbeclip vermittelten.

Für mich war es spannend, den aktuellen Stand der hochwertigen 3D und VFX Produktionen und die verschiedenen Richtungen, in die sich die Branche entwickelt, live erleben zu können.

animago.com

animago pic