ABOUT

icon incar is a highly specializedDesign Consultancy forAutomotive User Interface,User Experience, Connectivityand Mobility Ecosystems.

WHAT WE DO:OUR EXPERTISE

icon incar is a highly specialized design consultancy for Automotive User Experience, Connectivity Concepts, Mobility Ecosystems and for Research and Development. As part of the iconmobile group, a consultancy for design, technology and innovation, icon incar is active at locations worldwide: in Berlin, Munich, Ingolstadt, Santa Monica, Detroit and Shanghai, with more than 120 employees.

Today we support projects of all sizes across all locations, for traditional OEMs as well as for EV start-ups, mostly directly in cooperation with the design departments of our clients. We cover the entire value chain from research & innovation through pre-development to series production.

WHERE WE COME FROM:PIONEERS OF AUTOMOTIVE USER INTERFACE DESIGN

“Gulden Design” started in 1975 as a design studio and family business that primarily helped Audi to gain ground against the established German brands Mercedes-Benz and BMW – by means of design. In these 40 years before the introduction of the digital interface in the vehicle and before the change of name to icon incar GmbH, the studio developed entire generations of instrument clusters, as well as the entire product graphics in the interior and exterior for various Audi models; among other things, icons such as the quattro lettering originate from Gulden. In addition, dozens of wristwatches, rims, steering wheels and labels were produced over the decades.

With the introduction of computer and desktop publishing, it was time for “Gulden Design” to change. Although pictograms, lettering and instrument clusters were still being designed, they were also increasingly being designed for purely digital displays – a development that led to the founding of icon incar GmbH in 2007.

OUR ACTUAL TASK: WE BUILD THE ENTIRE VEHICLE ONCE MORE – AS VIRTUAL TWIN.

HOW WE DO IT:PROTOTYPING AS A WAY OF WORKING AND THINKING

We firmly believe that the only true way to push innovative projects and find solutions to today’s complex problems is through prototyping. “Proto Product” is what we call it. Prototyping means making. Testing. Discussing. Gain experience during the process and make decisions that can be directly incorporated into the further development of the process and the product.

This enables us to deliver concrete scenarios very quickly. The basic prerequisite for this is the close interlinking of design and technology. That’s why our interdisciplinary teams of concept developers, UX designers, visual designers, developers and project managers work hand in hand.

This light-footed and fast way of working is what our clients appreciate about us and what keeps our team alive. Innovations do not emerge in theory and through mere analyses, but are the result of creative processes.

icon incar is exactly where the future of mobility is invented.

ICON INCAR STUDIO BERLIN

Our “capital studio” in Berlin is our headquarters. Our international UX team works there for OEMs all over the world on the digital future of (auto) mobility, with strategic consulting, UI design and concept work up to tangible prototype implementations. The decades of automotive UX experience of Head of Studio Frank Hauschild together with the specialized know-how of the team accomplishes the seemingly impossible for the automotive industry. In just one year, we bring a system from the first line to series production for which three to four years were planned in the past.

We reside in Berlin together with our mother iconmobile. With their know-how, we can go far beyond the product experience. Rather, we jointly develop mobility concepts and ecosystems that link entire industries and lead to new disruptive business models.

 Contact
 +49 30 88 66 33 – 100
 ber@iconincar.com 

ICON INCAR STUDIO MUNICH

Our specialization in Automotive User Experience Design means that we work for customers all over the world. The nucleus of icon incar, however, lies undeniably in the provincial south of Germany, which, as the Berliners will surely recognize without envy, is the “cradle of the automobile”. Despite their international character, our locations in the south literally allow us to keep our feet on the ground. Our Munich studio is located in Schwabing and of course we profit from our location: You never have to go far to get to any place in Schwabing where there is something good to eat. In addition, we are in good company: between Milbertshofen and Oberwiesenfeld the concentrated automotive knowledge is settled.

Our studio in Munich is home to an interdisciplinary team of over 35 specialists: concept developers, UX designers, visual designers, motion designers, developers and project managers, with Alexandra Schneiderhan as Head of Studio.

 Contact
 +49 89 416 1553 0 
 muc@iconincar.com 

ICON INCAR STUDIO INGOLSTADT

The nucleus of icon incar lies in Ingolstadt. User interfaces, product graphics and prototypes have been created here for 40 years. Icons such as the quattro lettering or the first digital instrument cluster for the original quattro were created here in the 1980s. A team of over 30 employees works on projects for national and international customers. With our network in the field of electronics development, construction and model building we can cover an incredible range from simple prototypes to mobile showcars. Conception, design and software development interlock seamlessly.

 Contact
 +49 841 13 800 – 0
 ing@iconincar.com 

ICON INCAR STUDIO DETROIT

Detroit is a fascinating city. With incredible speed the traces of the last 30 years are removed there. The city centre pulsates with life and radiates a creative optimistic mood like Berlin in the 90s. There are great apartments for little money and a subculture that is unparalleled. Artists and designers from all over the world are part of this movement, which can only carry you away.

Detroit, the original home of the automotive industry and the place where over 70 percent of North American vehicle production takes place, is now THE place to be in the industry’s mood for new beginnings and for the future – and thus of course also for icon incar and the iconmobile group. With a team from all disciplines also we are part of Detroit 2.0, where intelligent vehicles and the mobility of the future are thought.

 Contact
 dtw@iconincar.com 

ICON INCAR STUDIO SHANGHAI

iconmobile and icon incar have been present in China since 2008 and develop exciting products for various industries in this highly dynamic market environment. Due to the ever increasing demand for automotive UX consulting and mobility ecosystems, we have decided to establish a local office in this exciting market and become part of the EV startup boom.

Shanghai is the perfect place for us to become active in Asia. Our office in Garden Square Tower is located in the heart of Jing’an, the historic and glamorous district in the heart of the city.

Together with iconmobile and our interdisciplinary team of UX experts, creative developers and cloud mobility services experts, we can offer a wide range of services. Both local and international customers have access to an equally experienced and passionate team that helps take products and brand experiences to the next level.

 Contact
 sha@iconincar.com 

ICON INCAR STUDIO SANTA MONICA

We feel extremely well positioned in the race to reinvent automobility: With one leg at the cradle of the automobile (through our locations in southern Germany), with the other one in California, the hotspot for UX and AI.

Besides Berlin, the Santa Monica office is the most important pillar of our parent company iconmobile. CEO and iconmobile founder Thomas Fellger built up the location personally, when he set off for California in 2004 with kith and kin, in order to start the iconmobile group with an international idea right from the start. Today, in our office between Santa Monica Boulevard and Colorado Avenue, with a 25-headed team of strategists, developers and UX designers we develop mobility ecosystems, apps and “seamless experiences” – and approach thereby the future of mobility from the other side: not out of the vehicle, but into the vehicle.

ABOUT

icon incar ist eine hochspezialisierteDesign Consultancy fürAutomotive User Interface,User Experience, Connectivity undMobility Ecosystems.

WHAT WE DO: UNSERE KOMPETENZ

icon incar ist eine hochspezialisierte Design Consultancy für Automotive User Experience, Connectivity Konzepte, Mobility Ecosystems sowie für Forschung und Entwicklung. Als Teil der iconmobile group, Beratungsunternehmen für Design, Technologie und Innovation, ist icon incar international an den Standorten Berlin, München, Ingolstadt, Santa Monica, Detroit und Shanghai mit über 120 Mitarbeitern aktiv.

Heute betreuen wir über alle Standorte hinweg Projekte jeder Größe, für traditionelle OEMs ebenso wie für EV-Startups, meist direkt in Zusammenarbeit mit den Designabteilungen unserer Auftraggeber. Dabei decken wir die komplette Wertschöpfungskette von Research & Innovation über die Vorentwicklung bis zur Serie ab.

WHERE WE COME FROM:PIONIERE DES AUTOMOTIVE USER INTERFACE DESIGN

Mit „Gulden Design“ startete 1975 ein Design-Studio und Familienunternehmen, das vornehmlich Audi dabei half, gegenüber den etablierten deutschen Marken Mercedes-Benz und BMW Boden gutzumachen – mittels Design. 30 Jahre vor der Einführung der digitalen Schnittstelle im Fahrzeug und vor der Umfirmierung in die icon incar GmbH entwickelte das Studio ganze Generationen von Kombi-Instrumenten, sowie die gesamte Produktgrafik im Innenraum und am Exterieur für diverse Audi-Modelle; unter anderem stammen Ikonen wie der quattro-Schriftzug aus dem Hause Gulden. Daneben entstanden über die Jahrzehnte hinweg dutzende Armbanduhren, Felgen, Lenkräder und Beklebungen.

Mit der Einführung von Computer und Desktop Publishing wurde es Zeit für „Gulden Design“, sich zu verändern. Zwar wurden auch weiterhin Piktogramme, Schriftzüge und Kombi-Instrumente entworfen, aber auch immer mehr für rein digitale Anzeigen gestaltet – eine Entwicklung, die 2007 in die Gründung der icon incar GmbH mündete.

UNSERE EIGENTLICHE AUFGABE: WIR KONSTRUIEREN DAS FAHRZEUG NOCHMAL KOMPLETT NEU – ALS VIRTUELLEN ZWILLING

HOW WE DO IT:PROTOTYPING ALS ARBEITS- UND DENKWEISE

Wir sind fest davon überzeugt, dass die einzig wahre Arbeitsweise, innovative Projekte voranzutreiben und Lösungen für komplexe Probleme unserer Zeit zu finden, im Prototyping besteht. „Proto Product“ nennen wir das. Prototypen bedeutet: Machen. Ausprobieren. Diskutieren. Verbessern. Beim Machen und im Prozess Erfahrungen sammeln und Entscheidungen treffen, die direkt wieder in die Weiterentwicklung des Prozesses und des Produkts einfließen können.

So können wir unglaublich schnell handfeste Szenarien liefern. Grundvoraussetzung dafür ist die enge Verzahnung von Design und Technologie. Deshalb arbeiten in unseren interdisziplinären Teams Konzepter, UX–Designer, Visual Designer, Entwickler und Project Manager Hand in Hand.

Diese leichtfüßige und schnelle Arbeitsweise ist das, was unsere Auftraggeber an uns schätzen und unser Team am Leben hält. Innovationen lassen sich nicht „herbeianalysieren“, sondern sind das Ergebnis von kreativen Prozessen.

icon incar ist genau da, wo die Zukunft der Mobilität erfunden wird.

ICON INCAR STUDIO BERLIN

Unser „Hauptstadtstudio“ Berlin ist unser Headquarter. Unser international besetztes UX-Team arbeitet dort für OEMs auf der ganzen Welt an der digitalen Zukunft der (Auto-)Mobilität, mit strategischer Beratung, UI Design und Konzeptarbeit bis hin zu greifbaren prototypischen Umsetzungen. Die jahrzehntelange Automotive-UX Erfahrung von Head of Studio Frank Hauschild gemeinsam mit dem spezialisierten Know-how des Teams vollbringt scheinbar Unmögliches für die Automobilindustrie. So kommt es, dass wir in nur einem Jahr ein System vom ersten Strich bis in die Serie bringen, für das in der Vergangenheit drei bis vier Jahre eingeplant wurden.

In Berlin residieren wir zusammen mit unserer Mutter iconmobile. Mit deren Knowhow können wir noch weit über die Product Experience hinausgehen. Vielmehr entwickeln wir gemeinsam Mobilitätskonzepte und Ecosysteme, die ganze Industrien miteinander verknüpfen und zu neuen disruptiven Geschäftsmodellen führen.

 Kontakt
 +49 30 88 66 33 – 100
 ber@iconincar.com 

ICON INCAR STUDIO MÜNCHEN

Unsere Spezialisierung auf Automotive User Experience Design bringt es mit sich, dass wir für Kunden auf der ganzen Welt arbeiten. Die Keimzelle von icon incar liegt jedoch unleugbar im provinziellen Süden Deutschlands, der, wie auch die Berliner neidlos anerkennen werden, nunmal die „Wiege des Automobils“ ist. Bei aller Internationalität erlauben uns diese Standorte im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes auch, unsere Bodenhaftung zu behalten. Unser Münchner Studio ist in Schwabing angesiedelt, und von dieser Lage profitieren wir in mehrfacher Hinsicht. Erstens, man muss hier niemals weit gehen, um irgendwohin zu kommen, wo es etwas Gutes zu essen gibt. Außerdem befinden wir uns in guter Gesellschaft: Zwischen Milbertshofen und dem Oberwiesenfeld ist das geballte Automobil-Wissen angesiedelt.

In unserem Studio München arbeitet ein interdisziplinäres Team von über 35 Spezialisten: Konzepter, UX-Designer, Visual Designer, Motion Designer, Entwickler und Project Manager, Head of Studio ist Alexandra Schneiderhan.

 Kontakt
 +49 89 416 1553 0 
 muc@iconincar.com 

ICON INCAR STUDIO INGOLSTADT

Die Keimzelle von icon incar liegt in Ingolstadt. Seit über 40 Jahren entstehen hier User Interfaces, Produktgrafiken und Prototypen. Ikonen wie der quattro-Schriftzug oder das erste digitale Kombi-Instrument für den Ur-quattro entstanden hier bereits in den 80er-Jahren.

Ein Team von über 30 Mitarbeitern arbeitet an Projekten für nationale und internationale Kunden. Mit unserem Netzwerk im Bereich Elektronikentwicklung, Konstruktion und Modellbau können wir vom einfachen Prototypen bis hin zum fahrbaren Showcar eine unglaubliche Bandbreite abdecken. Dabei greifen Konzeption, Design und Software Development nahtlos ineinander.

 Kontakt
 +49 841 13 800 – 0
 ing@iconincar.com 

ICON INCAR STUDIO DETROIT

Detroit ist eine faszinierende Stadt. Mit unglaublichem Tempo arbeitet die »Motor City« an ihrer Revitalisierung; die Innenstadt pulsiert vor Leben und strahlt eine kreative Aufbruchsstimmung wie Berlin in den 90er-Jahren aus. Es gibt tolle Wohnungen für wenig Geld und eine Subkultur, die ihresgleichen sucht. Künstler und Designer aus der ganzen Welt sind Teil dieser Bewegung, die einen einfach nur mitreißen kann.

Detroit, Ur-Sitz der Automobilindustrie und der Ort, an dem über 70 Prozent der nordamerikanischen Fahrzeugproduktion stattfindet, ist jetzt der »place« to be in der Aufbruchs- und Zukunftsstimmung der Branche – und somit natürlich auch für icon incar und die iconmobile group. Mit einem Team aus allen Disziplinen sind auch wir Teil von Detroit 2.0, wo intelligente Fahrzeuge und die Mobilität der Zukunft gedacht werden.

 Kontakt
 dtw@iconincar.com 

ICON INCAR STUDIO SHANGHAI

Bereits seit 2008 sind iconmobile und icon incar in China präsent und entwickeln in diesem hochdynamischen Marktumfeld spannende Produkte für die verschiedensten Industrien. Auf Grund der immer größer werdenden Nachfrage nach Automotive UX Beratung und Mobilitäts-Ökosystemen haben wir uns entschieden, ein lokales Büro in diesem spannenden Markt aufzubauen und so Teil des EV-Startup-Booms zu werden.

Shanghai ist der perfekte Ort für uns, um in Asien aktiv zu werden. Unser Büro im Garden Square Tower liegt mitten in Jing’an, dem historischen und glamourösen Viertel im Herzen der Stadt.

Zusammen mit iconmobile und unserem interdisziplinäres Team von UX Experten, kreativen Entwicklern und Experten für Cloud Mobility Services können wir eine große Bandbreite an Diensleistungen anbieten. Sowohl lokale als auch internationale Kunden haben so Zugriff auf ein gleichermaßen erfahrenes und passioniertes Team, das hilft, Produkte und Markenerlebnisse auf den nächsten Level zu heben.

 Kontakt
 sha@iconincar.com 

ICON INCAR STUDIO SANTA MONICA

Im Wettrennen um die Neuerfindung der Automobilität fühlen wir uns extrem gut aufgestellt: Mit einem Bein an der Wiege des Automobils (durch unsere Standorte in Süddeutschland), mit dem anderen in Kalifornien, dem Hotspot für UX und KI.

Das Santa Monica-Office ist neben Berlin das wichtigste Standbein unserer Konzernmutter iconmobile. CEO und iconmobile-Gründer Thomas Fellger baute den Standort eigenhändig auf, als er sich 2004 kurzerhand nach Kalifornien aufmachte, um die iconmobile group von Anfang an mit einem internationalen Gedanken anzulegen.

Heute entwickeln wir in unserem Office zwischen Santa Monica Boulevard und Colorado Avenue mit einem 25-köpfigen Team aus Strategen, Developern und UX-Designern Mobility Ecosysteme, Apps und »Seamless Experiences« – und nähern uns damit der Zukunft der Mobilität von der anderen Seite: nicht aus dem Fahrzeug heraus, sondern ins Fahrzeug hinein.