CASE

PARTNERSHIP OF PIONEERS: BMW AND ICON INCAR

TL;DR

(TOO LONG; DIDN'T READ)

When we first met BMW Design in 2008, we would never have dreamed of where this journey would take us. At a time when “User Experience Design” wasn’t on everyone’s lips yet and the design of the “Human-Machine Interface” (HMI) was only understood by a few people, BMW placed a lot of trust in us – and certainly bet a little on our enthusiasm.

How to deal with this new interface to the end customer, how to design in digital space and how the corresponding  “mental model” actually works and looks: it was up to us to figure out all of that. Until then, there were no standards on which one could build – neither in design nor in technology. A lot of things had to be developed from scratch, and we were able to derive a lot from our experience in the mobile sector.

Since then, we have done pioneering work together with BMW. The first digital instrument cluster, the first real-time 3D UI, the first eco trainers, Connected Apps and many other innovations could only be developed within the framework of a long-term partnership.

SEAMLESS USER EXPERIENCE

To this day we support BMW in UX/UI design – without interruption for six iDrive generations. Our shared design maxim is always to create a consistent user experience. To achieve this, we consider all digital interfaces equally – from the central information display to the head-up display, the digital instrument cluster, the rear seat entertainment, to apps and the connected drive portal – and develop solutions that are optimized for each channel and yet communicate a uniform brand image.

Our cooperation with BMW also includes the development of showcars. The most important thing here is to tell an inspiring story in order to create radiance and communicative power. It’s about great visions: with their studies “BMW Vision Next 100” for the 100th anniversary of the BMW Group, the Munich-based company showed what the mobility of the future could look like.

In addition to UI design, our tools also include hardware and software prototyping to make strategies for the future of mobility tangible at an early stage.

OUR ROLE: THE CRITICAL SYMPATHIZER

Our partnership has developed just as much as the requirements of the industry – and is characterized by joint growth.

Especially in the early days, when development cycles were longer, we had the opportunity to try out a lot of new things according to the “trial and error” principle – and to find out how the processes work. We were the “accelerator”: those who quickly built up knowledge for the transfer of know-how to the in-house team.

Today, in times when development cycles are getting shorter and shorter, we benefit from this. As a partner, we are still “a critical sympathizer” for BMW today: a discussion and development partner at eye level who brings maximum flexibility and agility as special added value – and of course the passion to always go beyond what is feasible.

What would an equivalent of the iconic BMW exterior look like in their HMI? With the Operating System 7.0, BMW says goodbye to the classic physical gauges and traditional circular form. The characteristic “kidney” design language now continues directly into the vehicle.

DEVELOPING THE FUTURE TOGETHER

We have proven it together: in a sustainable partnership you can create real innovations. Fastly and efficiently. After all, it’s all about joining forces and taking different perspectives on a problem. With our experience from other industries, we can make a valuable contribution to this. At the same time, our many years of cooperation have given us an understanding of what specific solutions BMW needs.

We are looking forward to what we have achieved together, but even more so to the future: because we want to remain at the forefront of innovation and jointly develop successful products.

CASE

PARTNERSCHAFT DER PIONIERE  – BMW & ICON INCAR

TL;DR

(TOO LONG; DIDN'T READ)

Als wir uns 2008 zum ersten Mal mit BMW Design trafen, hätten wir im Traum nicht daran gedacht, wo uns diese Reise hinführen wird. Zu einer Zeit als „User Experience Design“ noch nicht in aller Munde war und die Gestaltung des „Human-Machine Interface“ (HMI) nur von einigen Wenigen verstanden wurde, hat uns BMW großes Vertrauen entgegengebracht – und sicherlich auch ein wenig auf unseren Enthusiasmus gewettet.

Wie man mit dieser neuen Schnittstelle zum Endkunden umgeht, wie man im digitalen Raum gestaltet und wie das dazugehörige „Mentale Modell“ eigentlich funktioniert und aussieht: Das alles galt es herauszufinden. Es gab bis dato keine Standards, auf denen man aufsetzen konnte – weder gestalterisch noch technisch. Vieles musste von Grund auf entwickelt werden, einiges konnten wir aus unseren Erfahrungen im Mobile-Bereich ableiten.

Seitdem haben wir gemeinsam mit BMW Pionierarbeit geleistet. Das erste digitale Kombi-Instrument, das erste Echtzeit-3D UI, die ersten Eco-Trainer, die Connected Apps und viele weitere Innovationen konnten nur im Rahmen einer langjährigen Partnerschaft entstehen.

SEAMLESS USER EXPERIENCE

Bis heute unterstützen wir BMW im UX/UI-Design – unterbrechungsfrei seit sechs iDrive Generationen.

Unsere gemeinsame Gestaltungsmaxime ist es dabei immer, eine durchgehende User Experience zu erreichen. Dafür betrachten wir alle digitalen Schnittstellen gleichermaßen – vom zentralen Informationsdisplay über das Head-Up-Display, das digitale Kombi-Instrument, das Rear Seat Entertainment bis hin zu Apps und dem Connected Drive Portal – und erarbeiten Lösungen, die für den jeweiligen Kanal optimiert sind und doch ein einheitliches Markenbild kommunizieren.

Unsere Kooperation mit BMW umfasst darüber hinaus die Entwicklung von Showcars.

Hier kommt es vor allem darauf an, eine packende Story zu erzählen, um Strahlkraft und kommunikative Power zu entwickeln. Es geht um große Visionen: mit ihren Studien „BMW Vision Next 100“ zum 100-jährigen Jubiläum der BMW Group zeigten die Münchner, wie die Mobilität der Zukunft aussehen könnte.

Unsere Tools sind neben dem UI Design auch das Hard- und Software-Prototyping, um Strategien für die Zukunft der Mobilität frühzeitig erlebbar zu machen.

UNSERE ROLLE: DER KRITISCHE SYMPATHISANT

Unsere Partnerschaft hat sich genauso weiterentwickelt wie die Anforderungen der Branche und ist geprägt durch gemeinsames Wachstum.

Vor allem in der Anfangszeit, als die Entwicklungszyklen noch länger waren, hatten wir die Chance, nach „Trial and Error“-Prinzip viel Neues auszuprobieren – und herauszufinden, wie die Prozesse funktionieren. Wir waren dabei der „Accelerator“: diejenigen, die schnell Wissen aufgebaut haben für den Knowhow-Transfer ins Inhouse-Team.

In Zeiten, in denen die Entwicklungszyklen immer kürzer werden, profitieren wir davon. Bis heute sind wir als Partner „ein kritischer Sympathisant“: ein Diskussions- und Entwicklungspartner auf Augenhöhe, der als besonderen Mehrwert maximale Flexibilität und Agilität mitbringt – und natürlich die Passion, stets den Rahmen des Machbaren für BMW zu sprengen.

Was ist die Niere im HMI? Mit dem Operating System 7.0 löst sich BMW von den klassischen Rundinstrumenten und wechselt auf die Spangenform. Mit ihr setzt sich die markante Designsprache aus dem Exterior nun auch im Fahrzeug fort – direkt an der Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle.

GEMEINSAM DIE ZUKUNFT ENTWICKELN

Wir haben es gemeinsam bewiesen – in einer nachhaltigen Partnerschaft kann man echte Innovationen schaffen. Schnell und effizient. Schließlich geht es darum alle verfügbaren Kräfte zu bündeln und verschiedene Blickwinkel auf ein Problem einzunehmen. Mit unseren Erfahrungen als Agentur aus anderen Industrien können wir dazu einen wertvollen Beitrag leisten. Gleichzeitig verstehen wir durch unsere langjährige Zusammenarbeit, wie spezifische Lösungsansätze für BMW aussehen müssen.

Wir freuen uns über das gemeinsam Erreichte, aber noch mehr auf die Zukunft: Denn wir wollen weiterhin ganz vorne auf der Innovationswelle reiten und gemeinsam erfolgreiche Produkte entwickeln.