CASE

BRAND NEW CHINA EV-STARTUP:GUMPERT AIWAYS

FROM ZERO TO 100: AUTOMOTIVE BRANDING TODAY IS ALL ABOUT SPEED

If you want to be at the forefront in the head-to-head race of the new market for new energy vehicles in China, you have to position yourself within the shortest possible time – with a strong brand and a concept car that makes the vision comprehensible and the story tangible. The Chinese EV-Startup Gumpert AiWays, icon incar and partner ideenion have done this stunt in only six months. The result is the first concept Nathalie (named after the daughter of the founder) – an electric super sports car with a revolutionary energy concept: pollutant-free methanol.

TANGIBLE STRATEGY – FROM BRAND TO DIGITAL EXPERIENCE

What story does the concept car tell – to the user, the investor, the world public? What values does the new brand embody and how do they translate into a digital experience? Exactly these core questions describe icon incar’s way of thinking: In our interdisciplinary team of concepts, designers and developers, we translate the brand’s USPs into interactions that create a unique brand and product experience.

The brand makes the promise. The product delivers the proof. Only when you combine both you can create a holistic user experience.

NEW TECHNOLOGIES NEED A NEW DESIGN LANGUAGE

How do you make an innovative technology visible and experienceable for the user? One of the main tasks for our UX and visual designers is to translate new technological functions into new interaction concepts and a new design language. This gives us the opportunity to create a unique user experience for the brand and become the UX standard for an entire industry – for example Teslas Lane Assistant.

The intuitive interaction concept in Nathalie’s HMI focuses on the innovative vehicle drive: the specially developed signature element is the energy capsule in the FPC. This visualizes different driving conditions such as recuperation or energy output. The design language translates the energy flows in the vehicle by means of atomic particles that react dynamically and in real time and thus provide feedback to the driver.

Around the central capsule there are further functions such as the G-Meter and the sensor displays; in the center display, navigation and entertainment are the driver’s focus. In the comfort display, the driver can adjust the interior temperature, for example, using a new type of operation with intuitive feedback.

UX and UI Design are the universal interface that brings technology and people together.

EVERYTHING FROM A SINGLE SOURCE: FROM STRATEGIC CONSULTING TO IN-HOUSE DEVELOPMENT

All of our processes and tools are designed to ensure that projects are completed with time efficiency and the highest quality standards. With the Nathalie concept, for example, animations and design elements were implemented directly in a real-time 3D engine after a short coordination period, so that incoming vehicle data can be transferred visually correct.

With the help of the Network Library, a proprietary development of icon incar, data sent from the vehicle can be suitably translated for our applications and distributed in the network. The complete HMI setup including programming was developed in our development department and could be transferred to the vehicle for installation with a simple software transfer.

CASE

BRAND NEW CHINA EV-STARTUP:GUMPERT AIWAYS

FROM ZERO TO 100: AUTOMOTIVE BRANDING IST HEUTE VOR ALLEM – GESCHWINDIGKEIT

Wer im Kopf-an-Kopf Rennen des neuen Markts für New Energy Vehicles in China vorne mit dabei sein will, muss sich innerhalb kürzester Zeit positionieren – mit einer starken Marke und einem Concept Car, das die Vision begreifbar und die Story erlebbar macht. Das chinesische EV-Startup Gumpert Aiways, icon incar und Partner ideenion haben diesen Stunt in nur sechs Monaten hingelegt. Das Ergebnis ist „Nathalie“ (benannt nach der Tochter des Gründers) – ein Elektro-Supersportwagen mit revolutionärem Energiekonzept: schadstofffreiem Methanol.

TANGIBLE STRATEGY – VON DER MARKE ZUM DIGITALEN ERLEBNIS

Welche Story erzählt das Concept Car – dem User, dem Investor, der Weltöffentlichkeit? Welche Werte verkörpert die neue Marke und wie übertragen diese sich in ein digitales Erlebnis? Genau diese Kernfragen beschreiben die Denkweise von icon incar: In unserem interdisziplinären Team aus Konzeptern, Designern und Developern übersetzen wir die USPs der Marke in Interaktionen, die ein einzigartiges Marken- und Produkterlebnis erschaffen.

Die Marke gibt das Versprechen. Das Produkt liefert den Beweis. Nur wenn man beides verbindet, entsteht eine holistische User Experience.

NEUE TECHNOLOGIEN BRAUCHEN EINE NEUE DESIGNSPRACHE

Wie macht man eine innovative Technologie für den Nutzer sichtbar und erfahrbar? Eine der Hauptaufgaben unserer UX- und Visual Designer sehen wir darin, neue technologische Funktionen in neue Interaktionskonzepte und eine neue Designsprache zu übersetzen. Hiermit haben wir die Chance, eine einzigartige User Experience für die Marke zu schaffen und zum UX Standard einer ganzen Branche zu werden –  beispielsweise Teslas Lane Assistant.

So stellt das intuitive Interaktionskonzept in Nathalies HMI den neuartigen Fahrzeugantrieb ins Zentrum: das eigens entwickelte Signature-Element ist die Energiekapsel im Kombi-Instrument. Diese visualisiert unterschiedliche Fahrzustände wie Rekuperation oder Energieausstoß. Die Designsprache übersetzt die Energieflüsse im Fahrzeug mittels Atomarer Teilchen, die dynamisch und in Echtzeit reagieren und so Feedback an den Fahrer geben. Dadurch wird ein fühlbares »immersives Erlebnis« geschaffen, das das Fahrerlebnis ins Digitale überträgt und an den Nutzer weitergibt.

Um die zentrale Kapsel gliedern sich weitere Funktionen wie das G-Meter und die Sensorikanzeigen; im Center Display stehen Navigation und Entertainment im Fokus des Fahrers. Im Komfort-Display kann der Fahrer über eine neuartige Bedienung mit intuitivem Feedback beispielsweise die Innenraumtemperatur einstellen.

UX und UI Design sind die universelle Schnittstelle, die Technologie und Mensch zusammenbringt.

ALLES AUS EINER HAND: VON DER STRATEGISCHEN BERATUNG BIS ZUM INHOUSE DEVELOPMENT

All unsere Prozesse und Tools sind darauf ausgelegt, Projekte mit Zeiteffizienz und höchstem Qualitätsanspruch auf die Beine zu stellen. Beim Konzept Nathalie zum Beispiel wurden Animationen und Design-Elemente nach kurzer Abstimmung direkt in einer Echtzeit-3D-Engine umgesetzt, damit eingehende Fahrzeugdaten visuell korrekt übertragen werden können.

Mit Hilfe der Network-Library, einer Eigenentwicklung der icon incar, können aus dem Fahrzeug gesendete Daten für unsere Applikationen passend übersetzt und im Netzwerk verteilt werden. Das komplette HMI Setup inklusive Programmierung entstand in unserer Development-Abteilung und konnte für den Verbau mit einem einfachen Software-Transfer an das Fahrzeug übergeben werden.